We have had several calls about what obligations the agent (and brokerage) has when new buyers clients appear to be unaware of the Governor’s current orders – or when other agents or buyers are reluctant to wear masks other safety PPE required by the seller as a condition of showing. To help you easily share the current rules, here is a quick flyer we created:
Please refer to your broker / brokerage legal counsel in determining what you should do in the event that you have concerns about a specific client relationship. Bellow is the information this flyer contains:
Face Masks and Personal Protective Equipment (booties, gloves, sanitizer)
Protective Requirements When in Public
Starting May 1st, the use a face covering or mask in public places is required when maintaining proper social distancing measures is not possible. This applies to both indoor and outdoor spaces. Exceptions: children under the age of 2 and those unable to wear a mask or face covering due to a medical condition. There are additional limitations to the number of people allowable in indoor spaces based on capacity. See Mass.gov for details.
A business may refuse entry to a person who refuses to cover their face, unless it is for medical reasons. Additionally, a homeowner may require additional safety procedures as a condition of showing.
Visitors & Those Re-entering Massachusetts
Traveler Form and 14 Day Quarantine -or- Negative COVID-19 Test Required.
Starting August 1, all visitors and Massachusetts residents returning home must fill out a “Massachusetts Travel Form” and quarantine for 14 days unless they are coming from a COVID-19 lower risk state or they can produce a negative COVID-19 test result administered no more than 72 hours prior to arriving in Massachusetts. Individuals who get a test must remain in quarantine until they receive their negative test results. Failure to comply may result in a $500 fine per day.
Based on current public health data as of August 1st, those lower risk states will include: New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire and Hawaii. Rhode Island was REMOVED from the safe traveler list during the first week in August due to increasing numbers.
Traveler exemptions include people passing through the state, people commuting across state lines for work, people traveling to Massachusetts for medical treatment, people complying with military orders, or people traveling to work in federally designated critical infrastructure sectors (essential services).
Prior to travel, people should visit www.mass.gov/MAtraveler, to fill out the “Massachusetts Travel Form” or text “MATraveler” to 888-777.