Right to Farm Communities Updated

Peru has been added!  We’ve determined that the following communities in Berkshire County have passed some form of Agricultural Farming bylaws, many of which include a ‘right to farm provision’. When entering your listing in the MLS, do you need to remember these towns?  NO!  We’ve added a help button to the field, where the entire list is featured.  Please make sure you look up the town your listing is located in to provide proper disclosure.  You should also tell your seller  that they have an obligation to present a ‘Right to Farm’ disclosure form to buyers, no more than 21 days after the purchase and sale contract is entered into, or prior to the sale or exchange of real property. This form must be signed by the buyer and on file with the city or town before transfer or else a fine in the amount of $300 can be assessed. (except Pittsfield, North Adams and Hinsdale which has a bylaw but no disclosure requirement)

Right to Farm Communities:

    • Adams
    • Alford
    • Becket  Brochure (pdf)
    • Blandford
    • Cheshire
    • Chester
    • Egremont
    • Great Barrington
    • Hancock
    • Hinsdale*
    • Lanesborough
    • Lee
    • Middlefield
    • Monterey
    • New Marlboro
    • North Adams*
    • Peru
    • Pittsfield*
    • Richmond
    • Sandisfield
    • Savoy
    • Sheffield
    • West Stockbridge
    • Williamstown
    • Windsor